Applies to version: 2020.1.x and above; author: Dawid Golonka
WEBCON BPS has introduced the BPS group mechanism that can replace SharePoint groups and allows you to easily manage and assign the privileges to system users. These groups can be used in Standalone and Cloud installations. Until now, when transferring applications between DEV/TEST/PROD environments, the BPS group must be transferred manually e.g. created again on each of the environments. From version 2020.1.3. the export-import mechanism will also transfer BPS groups along with the application. This article shows an example of such a BPS groups migration.
The “Managers_test” BPS group with three users has been created.
Fig. 1. An example BPS group
This group was used in the configuration of the “Invoice” process for invoice registration – it was used to grant privileges. The “Invoice” process is located in the “Correspondence” application.
Fig. 2. The privileges granted to “Managers_test” members in the “Invoice” process
To export this group along with the process – they must be used somewhere in the process configuration e.g. to be granted privileges (like in the example above) or assigned a task on the transition path.
When exporting the “Correspondence” application, at the summary step, the system will inform you about finding the BPS group (groups) and exporting them. Important! The export-import mechanism does not transfer group content.
Fig. 3. The tool for exporting the application
The “Managers_test” group has been deleted on the target environment before importing the application:
Fig. 4. A button used to delete BPS groups
At the “Configuration” step the importing tools asks you whether the user want to import BPS groups – by default this option is checked:
Fig. 5. The tool for exporting the application
If the field is unchecked, the application import will be successful and the missing groups can be created manually.
If the field is checked, the report on the application import process will inform you that BPS groups have been added.
Fig. 6. In the import process report there is information about imported groups
Important! Transferring BPS groups requires running independent user synchronization (for added groups), it may take a few seconds – so groups may appear with a slight delay on the target environment.
In the imported application, the “Managers_test” group assignment still appears in the permissions section of the “Invoice” process.
Fig. 7. The “Managers_test” group
Notice, that the group which was previously deleted is on the list:
Fig. 8. Created BPS group
As you can see on the above screenshot – the import-export mechanism does not transfer group content.